RejectedSoftware Forums

Pages: 1 2

(re-)package dub packages in Debian

Hi all,

I know dub was designed to overcome distro packaging, but in order to get some packages into Debian (specifically I'm interested in getting vibe.d), I have to get its dependencies in Debian first.
So basically I have to replicate dub's workflow while creating Debian packages.

So I'd like to understand how it works, I see that it depends on openssl and libev (amongst others).
In most of the packages I see two directories, C and deimos.

Could someone explain to me, for example, what should be the preferred way to package those? Should I package dub and make it build and install the files in some prefixed directory and just package that and copy it to a system wide directory (like /usr/include/d/ or something else)?

I would be prepared to package and maintain many of those packages in Debian (I am a Debian developer myself) but I'd like to understand what would be the best way to do it. I also currently took over maintainance of ldc in Debian, so I have an interest in providing better support for the D language in the distribution eventually.

Thanks

Konstantinos

Re: (re-)package dub packages in Debian

Thanks for you continuous effort on improving D Debian presence.

Could someone explain to me, for example, what should be the preferred way to package those? Should I package dub and make it build and install the files in some prefixed directory and just package that and copy it to a system wide directory (like /usr/include/d/ or something else)?