RejectedSoftware Forums

vibe.d as a front-end server

Hello,

Recently discovered vibe.d and was totally amazed by it's performance and ease of use.
I'm a PHP developer right now, but looking into world of modern frameworks and languages to choose what could be the possible "ideal" solution for next-gen projects. I've tested nodejs, dart, elixir, some frameworks for them. After some years of PHP development working with all those bundles seems a bit confusing (never did thing like HTTP server, requests and so on on PHP part, also compiling part - I don't know if there's another way to work with frameworks like vibe.d, but do I actually need to recompile every time I change something in my code while working on it?).

Also, after some testing, I discovered that vibe.d can actually serve apps without nginx as a front-end server. With it, it's much more (almost 2x) slower. And without nginx, assuming you actually do some kind of low level programming, it's performance is just outstanding! What could be the cons of running vibe.d apps without front-end server?

Thanks.
Mikhail

Re: vibe.d as a front-end server

On Mon, 29 Jun 2015 05:45:20 GMT, mikhail wrote:

it's performance is just outstanding! What could be the cons of running vibe.d apps without front-end server?

Thanks.
Mikhail

You'll know if you ever need a feature that nginx has... It only takes me a few lines to compensate whenever that happens.

If you don't want to re-compile every time you change something, you can use a file server and change the HTML, or setup a database and change things through a database manager.

I think the most important feature you'll miss from Nginx is load-balancing. Most other things are sort of trivial to implement on top of vibe.

We are soon going live without Nginx, and I don't have plans to ever use it, at least I hope I won't need to.

On Mon, 29 Jun 2015 23:09:19 GMT, Márcio Martins wrote: