RejectedSoftware Forums

Failed build with GDC 2.064

Hello all. New viber here.

So, I'm building the "Hello world" from vibe-d-0.7.22 on ubuntu 14.04 LTS.

With a LDC toolchain (DMD v2.066.1 and LLVM 3.5.0) it went on without issues (save for an out of memory at link due to 1 GB RAM - I upped the VM to 4 GB and that was it - I understand this actually comes from the dmd front-end?)

It didn't go well with GDC (which I care more about).
I used GDC 4.8 (8664-gdc2064) which I presume to have a 2.064 DMD front-end.

The actual errors are in Redis, but I would expect it to fail somewhere else as well if I try to get past it? I'm very new to D, though I've been aware of its existence for a very long time.

Building vibe-d 0.7.22 configuration "libevent", build type debug.
Running gdc...
../.dub/packages/vibe-d-0.7.22/source/vibe/db/redis/idioms.d:520: error: no property 'among' for type 'string'
../.dub/packages/vibe-d-0.7.22/source/vibe/db/redis/idioms.d:522: error: template instance vibe.db.redis.idioms.isRedisType!0 error instantiating
../.dub/packages/vibe-d-0.7.22/source/vibe/db/redis/idioms.d:520: error: no property 'among' for type 'string'
../.dub/packages/vibe-d-0.7.22/source/vibe/db/redis/idioms.d:522: error: template instance vibe.db.redis.idioms.isRedisType!null error instantiating
FAIL ../.dub/packages/vibe-d-0.7.22/.dub/build/libevent-debug-linux.posix-x8664-gdc2064-3A0CAEB869A44023BCBDE9AC880BC4D8/ vibe-d staticLibrary
Error executing command build: gdc failed with exit code 1.

So, 2.066 front-end good, 2.064 bad.

What GDC version/front-end does the latest vibe.d build against?

Re: Failed build with GDC 2.064

FYI __VERSION__ is
2064 when compiled with GDC
2066 when compiled with LDC

(I had to escape each underscore above, is this a feature or a bug in the forum software?)

To answer my own conundrum, after installing GDC 4.9.2 (2.065 front-end), which can be pulled from the "vivid main universe", vibe.d builds cleanly.